top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatianna Wilkins

Riding New Waves.

I "hopped off the plane at LIM" and my first experience surfing was defiantly one for the books. Determined to get out of my comfort zone, I and a group of new international friends decided to take a lesson in surfing. Prior to this experience the only surfing I knew was from movies like "Soul Surfer" and "Johnny Tsunami." and figurative references in music. Not to mention that I was the kid who always held their nose when they jumped in the water. But was a I able to swim? Yes. So that was qualification enough.With that being said did I do it? Yes. Will I do it again? I'll just say there's a reason they don't cast too many black characters in those surf movies. All jokes aside, this 2 hour session of surfing taught me more about myself than any movie could. Literally being thrown in with the fishes, shifted my mind and body into a new element of survival. I had that real fight or flight stress. Getting out of my element showed me that when I push myself, my mind and body will adjust to the situation. I hope to take this experience and let it be the forefront of my decision making when it comes to trying new things. New experiences may not always be as adventurous as surfing, but now I have the confidence to know that I am capable of at least trying. #SURFBORT #MIRAFLORES #WHENINPERU







bottom of page