top of page
  • Writer's pictureTatianna Wilkins

Habits Of Mind.

Updated: Jul 9, 2019

It's coming to be my fourth month in Lima, Peru and I can defiantly say I am becoming more familiar with my surroundings. However, just because I know how to find the bus stop doesn't mean I have become a pro at this traveling thing. I've come familiar with the real struggles of learning a new language. I constantly find myself reevaluating my study methods and listening techniques. Ive found that learning a new language is more than just remembering conjugations. Its coming face to face with your own limitations and insecurities. For example, with me I hate miscommunication.. LIKE IN EVRY WAY POSSIBLE. I pride myself on communicating my words and emotion as effectively as possible to limit misinterpretation. So, only knowing a limited vocabulary, tenses and phrases; ITS TOUGH but far from impossible. You could basically say I am learning to be okay with being miscommunicated, looking dumb, being silent when I have something to say, and being compared to people who are better than me. As much as the vulnerability of learning might sting, none of these things I believe I could learn at home. Here, in South America I am out of my comfort zone because I am surrounded by people with different abilities, experiences and knowledge. I have learned that I must change my "mind" before I change anything externally. God has showed me that this is more than just learning a new language, It's learning to change my old habits of thinking that limit what I am capable of. So I am saying "Adios" to who I was and saying "Hola" too who I am becoming.




"Growing isn't excelling, it's just growing"

- Self quote of the week


bottom of page